Weirdest Novel Opening Sentences

Opening lines of novels are meant to catch your eye and want you to keep reading. But some novel opening lines can be quite odd. Here are 10 of the weirdest opening sentences in novels.

Uglies by Scott Westerfeld
“The early summer sky was the colour of cat vomit.”

The Crow Road by Iain Banks
“It was the day my grandmother exploded.”

Clown Girl by Monica Drake
”Balloon Tying For Christ was the cheapest balloon manual I could find.”

Machine Man by Max Barry
“As a boy, I wanted to be a train.”

I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith
“I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.”

A River Runs Through It by Norman Maclean
“In our family, there was no clear line between religion and fly fishing.”

Choke by Chuck Palahnius
“If you’re going to read this, don’t bother.”

Neuromancer by William Gibson
“The sky above the port was the color of television, tuned to a dead channel.”

Notes From The Underground by Fyodor Dostoyevsky
“I am a sick man . . . I am a wicked man. An unattractive man, I think my liver hurts.”

Galatea 2.2 by Richard Powers
“It was like so, but wasn’t.”

Which opening sentence do you think was the weirdest?

Leave a Reply

