100 Book Quotes

I like quotes a lot. I also like books a lot. In the past I’ve done posts on different categories of quotes like writing related quotes, motivations quotes and even inspiring song lyrics. Now I have decided to share with you my favourite quotes from books!

If you live to be a hundred, I want to live to be a hundred minus one day so I never have to live without you.
– A.A. Milne, Winnie the Pooh

Greatness inspires envy, envy endangers spite, spite spawns lies.
– J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

There are a whole lot of things in this world of yours you haven’t started wondering about yet.
– Old Green Grasshopper, James and the Giant Peach

You’re off to great places. Today is your day. Your mountain is waiting, so get on your way.
– Dr Seuss, Oh, The Places You’ll Go!

If summer had a flavor, it was pink bubble gum.
– Sara Jio, Violets of March

Happiness can be found, even in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light.
– J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban

Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it.
– Roald Dahl, The Minpins

You can never visit the same place twice. Each time, it’s a different story. By the very act of coming back, you wipe out what came before.
– Maureen Johnson, The Last Little Blue Envelope

The Buddha said that suffering was caused by desire, we’d learned, and that the cessation of desire meant the cessation of suffering. When you stopped wishing things wouldn’t fall apart, you’d stop suffering when they did.
– John Green, Looking For Alaska

That’s the thing about people who mean everything they say. They think everyone else does too.
– Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

Sometimes, I look outside, and I think that a lot of other people have seen this snow before. Just like I think that a lot of other people have read those books before. And listened to those songs. I wonder how they feel tonight.
– Stephen Chbosky, The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

“Why did you do all this for me?” he asked. “I don’t deserve it. I’ve never done anything for you.”
“You have been my friend,” replied Charlotte. “That in itself is a tremendous thing.”
– E B White, Charlotte’s Web

The choices we make can have lasting consequences.
– Joan Bauer, Thwonk

Most children in Matilda’s place would have burst into floods of tears. She didn’t do this. She sat there very still and white and thoughtful. She seemed to know that neither crying nor sulking ever got anyone anywhere.
– Roald Dahl, Matilda

“Harry – you’re a great wizard, you know.”
“I’m not as good as you,” said Harry, very embarrassed.
“Me!” said Hermione. “Books! And cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery –”
– J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

It’s always easier to say good-bye when you know it’s just a prelude to hello.”
– Maureen Johnson, The Last Little Blue Envelope

Do not just seek happiness for yourself. Seek happiness for all. Through kindness. Through mercy.
– David Levithan, Wide Awake

A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.
– Roald Dahl, The Twits

To say ‘I love you’ one must know first how to say the ‘I.’
– Ayn Rand, The Fountainhead

Fear of a name increases fear of the thing itself.
– J. K. Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

No one is ever who you want them to be.
– Rachel Cohn and David Levithan, Dash & Lily’s Book Of Dares

Until I feared I would lose it, I never loved to read. One does not love breathing.
– Harper Lee, To Kill A Mockingbird

You know. Life’s short. If you don’t try new things, you’ll never know what you’re best at. And you can only make time for new things by quitting the things you know don’t work for you.
– Meg Cabot, Teen Idol

The world’s a hard place, Danny. It don’t care. It don’t hate you and me, but it don’t love us, either. Terrible things happen in the world, and they’re things no one can explain. Good people die in bad, painful ways and leave the folks that love them all alone. Sometimes it seems like it’s only the bad people who stay healthy and prosper. The world don’t love you, but your momma does and so do I.
― Stephen King, The Shining

You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, old man, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.
– John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

But there was something about the largest object in the solar system vanishing that tended to disrupt normal schedules.
– James Dashner, The Maze Runner

Alone had always felt like an actual place to me, as if it weren’t a state of being, but rather a room where I could retreat to be who I really was.
― Cheryl Strayed, Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail

I wish I could freeze this moment, right here, right now and live in it forever.
― Suzanne Collins, Catching Fire

She had blue skin,
And so did he.
He kept it hid
And so did she.
They searched for blue
Their whole life through,
Then passed right by-
And never knew.
― Shel Silverstein, Every Thing on It

My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations.
– John Green, Fault in our stars

We lie best when we lie to ourselves.
― Stephen King, It

The planet has survived everything, in its time. It will certainly survive us.
― Michael Crichton, Jurassic Park

He found himself understanding the wearisomeness of this life, where every path was an improvisation and a considerable part of one’s waking life was spent watching one’s feet.
― William Golding, Lord of the Flies

I don’t think your missing pieces ever fit inside you again once they go missing.
― John Green, An Abundance of Katherines

He knows that you have to laugh at the things that hurt you just to keep yourself in balance, just to keep the world from running you plumb crazy.
― Ken Kesey, One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

If I got rid of my demons, I’d lose my angels.
– Tennesse Williams, Conversation with Tennessee Williams

Never hate your enemies. It affects your judgment.
― Mario Puzo, The Godfather

High school isn’t a very important place. When you’re going you think it’s a big deal, but when it’s over nobody really thinks it was great unless they’re beered up.
― Stephen King, Carrie

That’s the thing about books. They let you travel without moving your feet.
– Jhumpa Lahiri, The Namesake

When adults say, “Teenagers think they are invincible” with that sly, stupid smile on their faces, they don’t know how right they are. We need never be hopeless, because we can never be irreparably broken. We think that we are invincible because we are. We cannot be born, and we cannot die. Like all energy, we can only change shapes and sizes and manifestations. They forget that when they get old. They get scared of losing and failing. But that part of us greater than the sum of our parts cannot begin and cannot end, and so it cannot fail.
― John Green, Looking for Alaska

Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.
― Veronica Roth, Divergent

Anybody can be charming if they don’t mind faking it, saying all the stupid, obvious, nauseating things that a conscience keeps most people from saying. Happily, I don’t have a conscience. I say them.
― Jeff Lindsay, Darkly Dreaming Dexter

Remember, we’re madly in love, so it’s all right to kiss me anytime you feel like it.
― Suzanne Collins, The Hunger Games

The holes in your life are permanent. You have to grow around them, like tree roots around concrete; you mould yourself through the gaps.
― Paula Hawkins, The Girl on the Train

You cannot fathom the distance I would travel for you.
― Alexandra Bracken, Passenger

The human creature is so astonishing, but count on it before anything else to be just that-a creature. A laughing animal, a dangerous one, a clever one, a scared one, but always acting for a reason-a motive that will move the beast towards its desires.
― Jeffery Deaver, The Bone Collector

I wanted to tell the book thief many things, about beauty and brutality. But what could I tell her about those things that she didn’t already know? I wanted to explain that I am constantly overestimating and underestimating the human race-that rarely do I ever simply estimate it. I wanted to ask her how the same thing could be so ugly and so glorious, and its words and stories so damning and brilliant.
– Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

Sometimes you make choices in life and sometimes choices make you.
― Gayle Forman, If I Stay

I think prime numbers are like life. They are very logical but you could never work out the rules, even if you spent all your time thinking about them”
― Mark Haddon, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

I write for love, but love doesn’t pay the bills.
― Stephen King, The Bazaar of Bad Dreams

The problem with people is they forget that most of the time it’s the small things that count.
― Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places

That’s always seemed so ridiculous to me, that people want to be around someone because they’re pretty. It’s like picking your breakfast cereals based on color instead of taste.
― John Green, Paper Towns

We accept the love we think we deserve.
― Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

Look, I can’t go out with you, because…because…because I’m a lesbian.
― Louise Rennison, Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging

You never know ahead of time what something’s really going to be like.
― Katherine Paterson, Bridge to Terabithia

And than suddenly he was there, charging down the hallway like death in a cowboy duster.
― Richelle Mead, Vampire Academy

I am constantly torn between killing myself and killing everyone around me.
― John Green, Will Grayson, Will Grayson

When you’re struggling with something, look at all the people around you and realize that every single person you see is struggling with something, and to them, it’s just as hard as what you’re going through.
― Nicholas Sparks, Dear John

Do not apologize for crying. Without this emotion, we are only robots.
― Elizabeth Gilbert, Eat, Pray, Love

Shoot for the moon, even if you fail, you’ll land among the stars
― Cecelia Ahern, P.S. I Love You

I will not get upset over men, but instead be poised and cool ice-queen.
― Helen Fielding, Bridget Jones’s Diary

It’s hard to have anything isn’t it? Rare to get it, hard to keep it. This is a damn slippery planet.
― Thomas Harris, Red Dragon

If you could read my mind, you wouldn’t be smiling.
― Tamara Ireland Stone, Every Last Word

There is not even a Scrabble word for how bad I feel.
― E. Lockhart, We Were Liars

Whatever he believed, he believed. It didn’t matter to him whether it was really true or not. He just changed the truth till it fit him. He was a real white man.
― James McBride, The Good Lord Bird

“Relationships are complicated.”
“Not all of them. For instance, our relationship is very simple. You are annoying; I am annoyed. See? Totally uncomplicated.”
― Lauren Stewart, Hyde

“Mom says it’s because she has PMS.”
“Do you even know what that means?”
“I’m not a little kid anymore. It means pissed-at-men syndrome”
― Nicholas Sparks, The Last Song

Some secrets are meant to stay secret forever.
― Liane Moriarty, The Husband’s Secret

 

“I just can’t believe that life would give us to each other,’ he said, ‘and then take it back.”
“I can,” she said. “Life’s a bastard.”
― Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor & Park

There are few persons who have not, at some period of their lives, amused themselves in retracing the steps by which particular conclusions of their own minds have been attained. The occupation is often full of interest and he who attempts it for the first time is astonished by the apparently illimitable distance and incoherence between the starting-point and the goal.
― Edgar Allan Poe, The Murders in the Rue Morgue

Beh oui. Better sticky than burned.
― Peter Mayle, A Year in Provence

I want to know what passion is. I want to feel something strongly.
― Aldous Huxley, Brave New World

If I had to give a definition of happiness, it would be this: happiness needs nothing but itself; it doesn’t have to be validated.
― Herman Koch, The Dinner

We learn from failure, not from success!
― Bram Stoker, Dracula

I have dreamt in my life, dreams that have stayed with me ever after, and changed my ideas; they have gone through and through me, like wine through water, and altered the color of my mind. And this is one: I’m going to tell it – but take care not to smile at any part of it.
― Emily Brontë, Wuthering Heights

I would always rather be happy than dignified.
― Charlotte Brontë, Jane Eyre

lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment.
― Jane Austen, Pride and Prejudice

I must work harder to achieve my goal of not seeking approval from those whose approval I’m not even sure is important to me.
― Lauren Graham, Someday, Someday, Maybe

A pretty sight, a lady with a book.
― Shirley Jackson, We Have Always Lived in the Castle

It’s like all those quiet people, when they do lose their tempers they lose them with a vengeance.
― Agatha Christie, The A.B.C. Murders

It may be normal, darling; but I’d rather be natural.
― Truman Capote, Breakfast at Tiffany’s

It’s our choices that matter in the end. Not wishes, not words, not promises.
― Alexandra Bracken, Passenger

We all complete. Maybe none of us really understand what we’ve lived through, or feel we’ve had enough time.
― Kazuo Ishiguro, Never Let Me Go

Sometimes skulls are thick. Sometimes hearts are vacant. Sometimes words don’t work.
― James Frey, A Million Little Pieces

“Write,” she said, “as if you’ll never be read. That way you’ll be sure to tell the truth.”
― Lori Lansens, The Girls

She wanted to feel safe. Untouchable in her home. The ultimate female fantasy.
― Kathy Reichs, Déjà Dead

What difference is there in the color of the soul?
― Solomon Northup, 12 Years A Slave

Sitting around miserable all day won’t make you any happier.
― John Boyne, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas

We never know which lives we influence, or when, or why.
― Stephen King, 11/22/63

If at first you don’t succeed, kill your opponent.
― Gena Showalter, Firstlife

“Oh my god,” I said, but I couldn’t help but laugh. “You can’t make jokes about eating dead people if you actually eat dead people.”
― Kali Wallace, Shallow Graves

The truth is what I make it. I could set this world on fire and call it rain.
― Victoria Aveyard, Red Queen

What if I’m a princess on another planet? And no one on this planet knows it?
― Candace Bushnell, The Carrie Diaries

But I’m the strongest girl in the world, don’t forget.
― Astrid Lindgren, Pippi Longstocking

You is kind. You is smart. You is important.
― Kathryn Stockett, The Help

There should be a place where only the things you want to happen, happen.
― Maurice Sendak, Where the Wild Things Are

A person’s a person, no matter how small.
― Dr. Seuss, Horton Hears a Who!

Your personality – the real you inside – was the price of beauty.
― Scott Westerfeld, Uglies

Oh, we’re playing nice now? Shall we have tea first? Brew up a nice pot of kiss-my-ass?
― Julie Kagawa, The Iron King

I know it is wet and the sun is not sunny, but we can have lots of good fun that is funny.
― Dr. Seuss, The Cat in the Hat

Which book quote was your favourite?

One thought on “100 Book Quotes

Leave a Reply

