100 More Writing Quotes

These are some more of my favourite quotes by authors or quotes about writing! Enjoy!

***

I prefer the pen. There is something elemental about the glide and flow of nib and ink on paper.
― James Robertson

Because there are hundreds of different ways to say one thing, I, being a writer, songwriter, and poet, speak childishly and incoherently. In speech there is so much to decide in so little time.
― Criss Jami

Writing is not apart from living. Writing is a kind of double living.
― Catherine Drinker Bowen

Writing is not just a process of creation. It is also a process of self-discovery
― Cristina Istrati

I love deadlines. I love the whooshing noise they make as they go by.
― Douglas Adams

Be prepared to work hard to be a writer.
― Sandra Brown

No one writes anything worth writing, unless he writes entirely for the sake of his subject.
― Arthur Schopenhauer

Literature is the art of writing something that will be read twice.
― Cyril Connolly

Yes, it’s hard to write, but it’s harder not to.
― Carl Van Doren

The paper is patient, but the reader is not.
― Joseph Joubert

The habit of writing for my eye is good practice. It loosens the ligaments.
― Virginia Woolf

If the desire to write is not accompanied by actual writing, then the desire must be not to write.
― Hugh Prather

Don’t make the editor’s decision for her by not submitting.
― Victoria Janssen

Writing is easy, all you have to do is cross out the wrong words.
– Mark Twain

After being turned down by numerous publishers, he decided to write for posterity.
― George Ade

The purpose of writing is both to keep up with life and to run ahead of it. I am little comfort to myself, although I am the only comfort I have, excepting perhaps streets, clouds, the sun, the faces and voices of kids and the aged, and similar accidents of beauty, innocence, truth and loneliness.
― William Saroyan

A book gets rejected because it’s not ready to be published.
― Gina B. Nahai

 

I wonder what the retirement age is in the novel business.
The day you die.
― Yasunari Kawabata

There is an art of reading, as well as an art of thinking, and an art of writing.
― Isaac D’Israeli

Keep on reading, thinking, doing and writing!
Words keep introducing their friends to you.
― Toba Beta

 

Don’t judge it. Just write it. Don’t judge it. It’s not for you to judge it.
― Philip Roth

The p’int of good writing is to know when to stop.
― L.M. Montgomery

There is bad in all good authors: what a pity the converse isn’t true!
― Philip Larkin

The impulse to write things down is a peculiarly compulsive one, inexplicable to those who do not share it, useful only accidentally, only secondarily, in the way that any compulsion tries to justify itself. I suppose that it begins or does not begin in the cradle.
― Joan Didion

If you treat your characters like people, they’ll reward you by being fully developed individuals.
― Don Roff

My short stories are like soft shadows I have set out in the world, faint footprints I have left. I remember exactly where I set down each and every one of them, and how I felt when I did. Short stories are like guideposts to my heart..
― Haruki Murakam

To write is to carve a new path through the terrain of the imagination, or to point out new features on a familiar route. To read is to travel through that terrain with the author as a guide– a guide one might not always agree with or trust, but who can at least be counted on to take one somewhere.
― Rebecca Solnit

Have more than one idea on the go at any one time. If it’s a choice between writing a book and doing nothing I will always choose the latter. It’s only if I have an idea for two books that I choose one rather than the other. I ­always have to feel that I’m bunking off from something.
― Geoff Dyer

While writing is like a joyful release, editing is a prison where the bars are my former intentions and the abusive warden my own neuroticism.
― Tiffany Madison

If I’m writing, at least I don’t feel as paralyzed.
― Laura Goode

If you haven’t cried at least once while writing a chapter of your inspirational book, then you have to ask yourself if your’re writing fiction.
― Shannon L. Alder

Write until your fingers break. It may be the cure for everything.
― Kelly O’Connor McNees

Your audience is one single reader. I have found that sometimes it helps to pick out one person-a real person you know, or an imagined person-and write to that one.
― John Steinbeck

Writing is easy: just stare at the screen of your computer until a tear drops on your keyboard.
― Paulo Coelho

Words are a puzzle; put them together the right way and you get something beautiful.
― Amy Joy

It ain’t a crapshoot unless you write crap.
― Jonathan O’Brien

What is the best way to write? Each of us has to discover her own way by writing. Writing teaches writing. No one can tell you your own secret.
― Gail Sher

A good many young writers make the mistake of enclosing a stamped, self-addressed envelope, big enough for the manuscript to come back in. This is too much of a temptation to the editor.
― Ring Lardner

Between the lines of every book the writer reveals their own secrets.
― Chloe Thurlow

Any fool can write a book and most of them are doing it; but it takes brains to build a house.
― Charles F. Lummis

A writer is not so much someone who has something to say as he is someone who has found a process that will bring about new things he would not have thought of if he had not started to say them.
― William Stafford

Stop talking about it and just WRITE!
― C.K. Webb

You like to write. It’s the single most important quality for someone who wants to be a writer. But not in itself enough.
― Haruki Murakami

Publishing a book is like stuffing a note into a bottle and hurling it into the sea. Some bottles drown, some come safe to land, where the notes are read and then possibly cherished, or else misinterpreted, or else understood all too well by those who hate the message. You never know who your readers might be.
― Margaret Atwood

Write a lot and hit the streets. A writer who doesn’t keep up with what’s out there ain’t gonna be out there.
― Toni Cade Bambara

Novels for me are how I find out what’s going on in my own head. And so that’s a really useful and indeed critical thing to do when you do as many of these other things as I do.
― Cory Doctorow

The crazy thing about poetry is how its simplicity makes it complicated.
― Richelle E. Goodrich

 

I believe you have to write every day–make the time. It’s about having an organized mind instead of a chaotic and untidy one. There is a myth that writers are bohemian and do what they like in their own way. Real writers are the most organized people on the planet. You have to be. You’re doing the work and running your own business as well. It’s an incredibly organized state.

[Also reading]…one of the things reading does do is discipline your mind. There are no writers who are not readers.
― Jeanette Winterson

Beginning to write, you discover what you have to write about.
― Kit Reed

You cannot write unless you write much.
― W. Somerset Maugham

Remember, it is no sign of weakness or defeat that your manuscript ends up in need of major surgery. This is a common occurrence in all writing, and among the best writers.
― William Strunk Jr.

The hardest things to write are often the best things to read. And the most deserving to be written.
― David Alejandro Fearnhead

If you are alone, tell some stories to yourself. This is a different kind of pleasure and it has, indeed, its reward. I have tasted a little of everything, and I have truly never enjoyed anything more.
― Charles Nodier

The difference between a novelist and someone who tinkers around with writing is this: novelists finish their books.
― Nancy Etchemendy

Writing is the delicate, difficult, and dangerous means of succeeding in avowing the unavowable.
― Hélène Cixous

I’m very much aware in the writing of dialogue, or even in the narrative too, of a rhythm. There has to be a rhythm with it … Interviewers have said, you like jazz, don’t you? Because we can hear it in your writing. And I thought that was a compliment.
― Elmore Leonard

I write because I hate. A lot. Hard.
― William H. Gass

Remember that wasted minute at the start of the day? Hard luck but you’ll never find it again.
― Cleveland W. Gibson

Like most novelists, I like to do exactly the opposite of what I’m told. It’s in my nature as a novelist. Novelists can’t trust anything they haven’t seen with their own eyes or touched with their own hands.
― Haruki Murakami

It’s as hard to get from almost finished to finished as to get from beginning to almost done.
― Elinor Fuchs

I think it is vanity to want to put into a story anything but the story itself.
― Julio Cortázar

The process of writing has something infinite about it. Even though it is interrupted each night, it is one single notation, and it seems most true when it eschews artistic devices of any sort.
― Elias Canetti

As for writing, that’s a cruel hard business. Unless you’re very lucky it’ll break your heart.
― Edward Abbey

Art is the writer not having control, but the subject having control of the writer.
― Paula Vogel

I really do literally put myself into a character’s shoes.
― Ruth Rendell

The moment of writing is not an escape…it is only an insistence, through the imagination, upon human ecstasy, and a reminder that such ecstasy remains as much a birthright in this world as misery remains a condition of it.
― Larry Levis

..no good writing flows from a polluted well – you can write about monsters, but you can’t be one..
― John Geddes

I kill my loneliness by reading and (then) writing, damn.
― Desi Puspitasari

I always say to people who want to write: Live life! Don’t stand on the rim, don’t sit on the sidelines. Make mistakes, make a mess, get it wrong. Read everything, and get out and be in life.
― Jeanette Winterson

I live entire lifetimes in my head. Sometimes simultaneously.
― Cypher Lx

And life is a good thing for a writer. It’s where we get our raw material, for a start. We quite like to stop and watch it.
― Neil Gaiman

And so I just kept writing to myself.
― Kimberly Novosel

…’being published’ is not the same as being a real writer.
― Scarlett Thomas

If you’re a writer, your first duty, a duty you owe to yourself and your readers, and to your writing itself, is to become wonderful. To become the best writer you can possibly be.
― Theodora Goss

I want to do something splendid… Something heroic or wonderful that won’t be forgotten after I’m dead… I think I shall write books.
― Louisa May Alcott

The more we are willing to separate from distraction and step into the open arms of boredom, the more writing will get on the page.
― Ann Patchett

But when i write, i feel like the most important man in the world, because when i write, i give meaning to things. i create significance, and i create meanings, and as hard as that may for you to believe, that’s really even more important in the long run than life and death.
― Elliot Mabeuse

No one can call themselves a writer until he or she has written at least fifty stories.
― David Foster Wallace

The job of a writer is not to convey emotion but to invoke it.
― Eric T. Benoit

I’ll be writing as long as I can hold a pen in my curled, crimped arthritic hands and then I’ll dictate it, if it comes to that. They’ll have to pry my pen out of my cold, dead fingers – and even then, I’ll fight ’em for it. Guaranteed.
― Wanda Lea Brayton

Write because you love to write.
― Cindi Lee

If only these walls could talk…the world would know just how hard it is to tell the truth in a story in which everyone’s a liar.
― Gregg Olsen

It takes great courage to write great books. Find your courage and find your voice.
― Kristen Lamb

Write all the time. I believe in writing every day, at least a thousand words a day. We have a strange idea about writing: that it can be done, and done well, without a great deal of effort. Dancers practice every day, musicians practice every day, even when they are at the peak of their careers – especially then. Somehow, we don’t take writing as seriously. But writing – writing wonderfully – takes just as much dedication.
― Theodora Goss

If the stories come, you get them written, you’re on the right track. Eventually everyone learns his or her own best way. The real mystery to crack is you.
― Bernard Malamud

Writing is like life: it goes on.
― Marty Rubin

Is it possible to say “It was a beautiful morning at the end of November” without feeling like Snoopy?
― Umberto Eco

Most writing is done between the mind and the hand, not between the hand and the page.
― Janet Burroway

Everyone should read, we say, but we act as if only those with special talent should write.
― Roy Peter Clark

Above all things — read. Read the great stylists who cannot be copied rather than the successful writers who must not be copied.
― Ngaio Marsh

One kind of good book should leave you asking: how did the author know that about me?
― Alain de Botton

Poets, like fighters, both reap the benefits of roadwork.
― Cameron Conaway

Novel writing is like heroin addiction; it takes everything you’ve got.
― James N. Frey

… a writer concocts a different story for every reader.
― Mike Bryan

I must write now and quickly, before I begin to prefer the perfect version that lives in my head.
― Lettie Prell

We writers are a crazy group. I can’t think of any other profession where the actual work is deep within, uncomfortable, and wanting out.
― C.J. Heck

Writing is a mysterious activity.
― Susan Sontag

I’d rather be nine people’s favorite thing than a hundred people’s ninth favorite thing.
― Jeff Bowen

When a writer tries to explain too much, he’s out of time before he begins.
― Isaac Bashevis Singer

People ask me all the time, “Where do your ideas come from?” So, to clear up this question…I keep my ideas inside the mind of a tiny man who is tied up in my closet!
― C.K. Webb

Check out my first 100 writing quotes post here!

Which of these quotes was your favourite?

Leave a Reply

